Entertainment News, News & Gossips, Tech Stuffs, Web Series, Reviews, Watch Movies

Election Results 2019 – What time will counting start, how are EVM votes counted, will final results be delayed?

The counting of votes will begin at 8 AM, starting with the postal ballots and then the EVMs will be brought in. The paper slips generated by the VVPATs will be counted in the end.

0 2,304

Election Results 2019: The 2019 Indian general election is currently being held in seven phases from 11 April to 19 May 2019 to constitute the 17th Lok Sabha. The counting of votes will be conducted on 23 May, and on the same day the results will be declared. Lok Sabha Election Results,New PM of India

What time will the counting of votes kick off?

The counting of votes will begin at 8 AM, starting with the postal ballots. The Returning Officer of the constituency and the Assistant Returning Officer will take the oath to maintain the secrecy of voting and read it out loud before the commencement of counting. As per the Election Commission (EC) guidelines, the process of counting votes from the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) will begin 30 minutes after this. The counting of postal ballots for each Parliamentary constituency will be taken up in one of the Assembly segment counting halls. In the remaining halls vote, counting will begin at 8 am.

What are postal ballots?

In certain cases, when a registered voter is unable to visit the polling booth to cast his/her vote, the postal ballot option can be exercised. This option is available to personnel of the armed forces, central police force personnel and state police personnel, who are posted outside their constituencies, as well as diplomats and support staff posted in Indian embassies abroad. Of the 18 lakh registered service voters, 16.49 lakh had sent their postal ballots to their respective returning officers as on May 17.

What is the procedure for counting votes from the EVMs?

The EVMs will be brought in to the designated assembly segment counting halls at 8.30 am. According to the EC, after the close of the polls, all the EVMs and VVPATs are brought under security cover to designated strongrooms. The latter, which were then sealed and have been guarded round-the-clock ever since, will only be opened in the presence of the counting agents, candidates and the EC Observer on counting day. Note that contesting candidates have the right to be present at the counting centers.

Before the counting of EVMs commences, the counting agents are shown the address tags, seals and a serial number of the EVMs to satisfy themselves to the genuineness and authenticity of the machines used in the actual polls.

The ‘ballot unit’ will then be switched on and the resulting command keyed in to get the results per machine. Vote counting takes place simultaneously in multiple tables set up in each counting hall, and the EVMs are reportedly resealed after counting for one round is over.

The paper slips generated by the voter-verified paper audit trail machines (VVPAT) will be counted in the end. Significantly, this is the first-ever polling exercise where EVM results will be matched with VVPAT slips. In case of destruction or loss of ballot papers at the time of counting, the Returning Officer will immediately report the matter to the Election Commission. Depending on the situation, the ECI may allow the counting to be completed or declare the poll to be void and order repolling.

When the counting is completed, the Returning Officer will declare the result as per provisions of Section 66 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Why are the final results expected to be delayed this time?

The final results of Lok Sabha election 2019 might be announced around 10 pm on May 23, which is several hours later than usual. The delay is because the tallying of the VVPAT slips with EVM count has increased from one to five per assembly segment, following the April 8 Supreme Court order. This process of counting is expected to take well over five hours per constituency because the physical verification will be done sequentially for five EVMs. The counting of VVPAT slips per EVM takes up to one hour.

The tallying process will only begin after the last round of counting. To ensure that there is a single source of authentic data, the EC has emphasized that round-wise data must be entered into its Suvidha application. The EC officials can log into the app and feed in the data. This will be done before the round results are declared at the counting centers.

Another delaying factor that could come into play is the number of rounds in each assembly segment. For example, Delhi has 70 assembly constituencies and in all of them, 350 VVPATs will be counted. According to the officials in Delhi CEO’s office, every assembly segment had 200 polling stations and five polling stations will be selected randomly. This will delay the announcement of formal results.

Election Results 2019

The Counting of Votes will be conducted on 23rd May 2019 and on the same day the results will be declared. Trends and Results will be available on https://results.eci.gov.in

ECI Voting Equipments

Electronic Voting Machine (also known as EVM) is voting using electronic means to either aid or take care of the chores of casting and counting votes.

An EVM is designed with two units: the control unit and the balloting unit. These units are joined together by a cable. The control unit of the EVM is kept with the presiding officer or the polling officer. The balloting unit is kept within the voting compartment for electors to cast their votes.

Electronic Voting Machine -EVM

This is done to ensure that the polling officer verifies your identity. With the EVM, instead of issuing a ballot paper, the polling officer will press the Ballot Button which enables the voter to cast their vote. A list of candidates names and/or symbols will be available on the machine with a blue button next to it. The voter can press the button next to the candidate’s name they wish to vote for.

Election Commission News

Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora and Election Commissioners Ashok Lavasa and Sushil Chandra on April 15 reviewed poll arrangements in specific constituencies of West Bengal and Tripura going to polls in Phase 2 and 3 of ongoing General Elections to Lok Sabha 2019. The review through video conferencing was held with general observers, police observers and expenditure observers deployed in Phase 2 and Phase 3 parliamentary constituencies in West Bengal namely the 3-Jalpaiguri, 4-Darjeeling, 5- Raiganj, 6- Balurghat, 7-Maldaha Uttar, 8-Maldaha Dakshin, 9-Jangipur and 11- Murshidabad in West Bengal and  Phase 2 (final phase) of Tripura ie 2-Tripura East Parliamentary Constituency.

Also Check: Kids Adventure Game – Challenge Adventure Game | Download Now



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

ut non diam et, commodo id, at massa mattis ultricies id